Un expert condamne l'abus de la loi sur la cybercriminalité pour harceler les citoyens

 

Un expert des droits numériques, Tope Ogundipe a condamné l'abus de la loi sur la cybercriminalité (prévention, etc.) du Nigeria pour harceler les journalistes et autres citoyens. Elle a pris la parole à l'Atelier sur les méthodes de recherche pour la politique et le plaidoyer sur Internet à Kampala en Ouganda, organisé par l'Internet Policy Observatory de l'Annenberg School for Communications de l'Université de Pennsylvanie.

Ogundipe, qui est directeur des programmes de l'entreprise sociale panafricaine Paradigm Initiative, a animé une session sur «La cybercriminalité, les droits numériques et l'application de la loi au Nigeria». Elle a retracé les origines de la loi sur les cybercrimes de 2015 et son utilisation actuelle comme principal outil entre les mains des riches et puissants au Nigeria pour faciliter l'arrestation et le harcèlement des journalistes, blogueurs et citoyens ordinaires pour les commentaires faits en ligne.

Elle a noté, "Depuis l'adoption de la Loi sur la cybercriminalité en 2015, il n'y a pas eu un seul incident où il a été utilisé pour poursuivre une véritable affaire de cybercriminalité. Au lieu de cela, il a été utilisé pour arrêter les citoyens ordinaires pour des commentaires en ligne jugés offensants pour les puissants au Nigeria

Elle a également noté, "les journalistes, en particulier, ont été à la fin de ces arrestations en utilisant la loi sur la cybercriminalité, car un grand nombre de journalistes ont été arrêtés au Nigeria en utilisant les articles 24 et 38 de la loi".

"Paradigm Initiative, en partenariat avec Media Rights Agenda et Enough is Enough Nigeria, en réponse à l'utilisation de la législation sur la cybercriminalité dans les arrestations de citoyens ont contesté la constitutionnalité des articles 24 et 38 de la loi sur les cybercrimes devant les tribunaux. L'affaire est devant les tribunaux depuis 2016. Nous avons perdu devant le tribunal de première instance et nous sommes maintenant à la Cour d'appel. Le litige stratégique pourrait être un processus long et prolongé et, par conséquent, la patience et la persévérance sont nécessaires dans cette entreprise », a soutenu Ogundipe.

Pendant l'atelier, qui s'est tenu du 26 février au 3 mars, plus de 35 chercheurs et praticiens de toute l'Afrique se sont rassemblés à Kampala en Ouganda pour une intense semaine d'études sur les méthodes de recherche sur Internet et le plaidoyer sur le continent. Les participants à l'atelier venaient de 16 pays africains alors que les professeurs provenaient d'Afrique, d'Europe et des États-Unis.

L'atelier s'est terminé avec les participants qui ont posé des questions au chef de séance, en particulier sur la meilleure façon de mener des litiges stratégiques dans leur pays.

 

Pour plus d'informations sur cette déclaration, veuillez contacter le responsable des communications, Sodiq Alabi sodiq.alabi@paradigmhq.org.  

fr_FRFrench
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrench

News

Mar 12

2018

By

||

||

1 Like

||

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Expert Condemns Abuse of Cybercrimes Law to Harass Citizens

 

A digital rights expert, Tope Ogundipe has condemned the abuse of Nigeria’s Cybercrimes (Prevention etc) Act to harass journalists and other citizens. She was speaking at the Research Methods Workshop for Internet Policy and Advocacy in Kampala Uganda organized by the Internet Policy Observatory at the Annenberg School for Communications, University of Pennsylvania.

Ogundipe, who serves as Director of Programs at the pan-African social enterprise, Paradigm Initiative, led a session on “Cybercrime, Digital Rights and Law Enforcement in Nigeria”.  She traced the origins of Nigeria’s Cybercrimes Act 2015 and its current use as the prime tool in the hands of the rich and powerful in Nigeria to facilitate the arrest and harassment of journalists, bloggers and ordinary citizens for comments made online.

She noted, “Since the passage of the Cybercrimes Act 2015, there has not been one incident where it has been used to prosecute a real cybercrime case. Instead, it has been used to arrest ordinary citizens for comments made online deemed offensive to the powerful in Nigeria

She also noted, “Journalists, in particular, have been at the receiving end of these arrests using the Cybercrime law because a large number of journalists have been arrested in Nigeria using sections 24 and 38 of the law”.

“Paradigm Initiative, in partnership with Media Rights Agenda and Enough is Enough Nigeria, in response to the use of the Cybercrime legislation in the arrests of citizens have challenged the constitutionality of sections 24 and 38 of the Cybercrimes law in court. The case has been in the courts since 2016. We lost at the court of the first instance and we are now at the Court of Appeal. Strategic litigation could be a long and drawn out process and as such patience and perseverance are required in this endeavour,” Ogundipe submitted.

During the workshop, which held between from February 26 – March 3, over 35 researchers and practitioners from across Africa were gathered at Kabira resort Kampala Uganda for an intense week of study on research methods that underpin Internet policy and advocacy on the continent. The workshop participants were drawn from 16 African countries while the faculty were drawn from within Africa, Europe and the United States.

The Workshop ended with participants asking questions from the session leader, particularly on how best to conduct strategic litigation within their countries.

 

For more information on this statement, please contact the Communications Officer, Sodiq Alabi on sodiq.alabi@paradigmhq.org.  

2 Responses

  1. Hello ,

    I saw your tweets and thought I will check your website. Have to say it looks very good!
    I’m also interested in this topic and have recently started my journey as young entrepreneur.

    I’m also looking for the ways on how to promote my website. I have tried AdSense and Facebok Ads, however it is getting very expensive.
    Can you recommend something what works best for you?

    Would appreciate, if you can have a quick look at my website and give me an advice what I should improve: http://janzac.com/
    (Recently I have added a new page about FutureNet and the way how users can make money on this social networking portal.)

    I wanted to subscribe to your newsletter, but I couldn’t find it. Do you have it?

    Hope to hear from you soon.

    P.S.
    Maybe I will add link to your website on my website and you will add link to my website on your website? It will improve SEO of our websites, right? What do you think?

    Regards
    Jan Zac

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.